May 16, 2011

Moultonborough Heritage Commission

Moultonborough Town Offices

Present: Cristina Ashjian, Jean Beadle, Ed Charest, Norman Larson

Excused: Mark Borrin, Bruce Worthen

Public: Hollis Austin.

Cristina Ashjian called the meeting to order at 5:40 PM. The Minutes of the February 28, 2011 and April 18, 2011 meetings were approved without changes.

Cristina presented the Elizabeth Durfee Hengen award for education and planning presented by the New Hampshire Preservation Alliance that she accepted on behalf of the Moultonborough Heritage Commission on May 10, 2011. Also in attendance at the award ceremony were Norman Larson, Bruce Worthen and Dan Merhalski. The award will be presented to the Board of Selectmen on behalf of the Town at the May 19, 2011 Select Board meeting.

Cristina reported on the recent "walk around" the Committee and Carter Terenzini completed to view prepatory repairs by Leon Barton on the town owned historic properties. A bid for final repairs is expected to be solicited by the Town in the upcoming weeks. Next, The Committee reviewed a tentative matrix for 79-D barn abatement evaluation. A discussion ensued and the committee agreed to review independently and provide feedback to Cristina prior to May 23, 2011.

A discussion was held regarding town deeded properties. The Committee identified two lots on Route 25 across from the Sheridan Road intersection that they felt represented historical architectural significance and all members agreed should remain town owned property. Cristina will draft a letter to the Select Board informing them of the Commissions desire to have the Town retain ownership of both parcels.

The meeting concluded with a reminder of the following upcoming Community Landmarks events; the first two programs focus on agricultural heritage (May 31st, The Farm at the Laconia State School) and barn preservation (June 21st, Overview of NH Barn Types and information session).

The next Heritage Commission meeting will be at 5:30 PM on June 20th.

Motion: Ed moved to adjourn at 6:35 PM.

Norman seconded.

Motion Carried – Unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Jean Beadle, Secretary, Heritage Commission